Beats, Shoots and Leaves: A Poem for Mother’s Day

YOU were born in the heat of May. Early for term but necessary to preserve this circle of life. It’s true I never heard your heart beat or felt you move within me, like most mothers do. These were gifts not meant for me. But YOU crowned in red were born into my arms and womb so fast I never saw the old woman with a shattered nest leave. And it didn’t matter then that my spine was bent or webs were woven in my hair. YOU breathed small shoots which began to bud like blooms of the future,  which without YOU would never be mine.

 

Bliss

Bliss: Spirit Mama

 

 

©Talia Hardy 2014

Image rights: Spirit Mama.

8 thoughts on “Beats, Shoots and Leaves: A Poem for Mother’s Day

What works well for you?

