Beloved Monster by Jodie Rose McLoughlin

Beloved Monster in some ways reflects the culture bubble of me first. I believe it began with the advent of TV. In The Clock Work Orange, Burgess’s protagonist comments on how television is the ‘dope for the masses.’ and again is paralleled in the lines:

I am the parasite,
your culture – my host.

Propped up by dynasties of Illuminati families.
Who decide the worlds fate at their hedonistic parties.

It does seem the bubble has become evermore expansive with technology’s advancement.

Yet, Technology can be used to tackle humanitarian issues. And this poem published on the internet does just this.

I am not a silent poet

I am practically omnipotent
I tell you who to hate
I distort facts and create my own real fiction
As you watch your shows about dancing and cakes.

I am societies hydrocephalic brain.
Swollen and inflated by my own twisted powers.
With influence  greater than any book,
I’ll sell you sculptured manure and tell you they’re flowers.

Blooming in the fields of war.
This Country is full, we can take no more!
Swarms, invaders, masquerades.
Watch their bodies decorate the shore.

We all float you see.
Whatever shade our skin
Facedown in the water
Or looking upwards to the sun.

Look within
Do you really believe all that I tell you?
The stories I weave.
Conditioned not to question.
If it is printed it must be true.

Brought up to believe
in leaders
in celebrities
in others
but rarely in ourselves.

The self-deprecating heart dare not boast.
Ironic how we…

View original post 208 more words

What works well for you?

