The War-Torn Child by Hafsah Aneela Bashir Mua

Source: The War-Torn Child by Hafsah Aneela Bashir Mua

In a week of excellent poems over on I Am Not a Silent Poet, the blogzine founded by Reuben Woolley with the intention of showcasing poems which tackle abuse, Hafsah Aneela Bashir Mua’s  The War Torn Child is a voice we all of us can identify with.

I will tell God everything
The sharp metal pieces
Taken out of my stomach
Will all come with me..

I will tell God everything
The men with the guns
And the aeroplanes of fire
Will all get in trouble

I will tell God everything
And ask if the lightening in the sky
Was Him taking photos
If not, I’ll give him my drawings

I will tell God everything
That mama’s face was gone
But I found Baba’s feet
And put them together like shoes

 

6 thoughts on “The War-Torn Child by Hafsah Aneela Bashir Mua

What works well for you?

